Buck Clayton photo

Buck Clayton

Birth name:
Wilbur Dorsey Clayton
Date of Birth:
8 December 1911 Parsons, Kansas, USA
Composer ("Red Bank Boogie") and trumpeter, educated in high school and through private piano lessons from his father, Buck Clayton played in Los Angeles dance halls and then joined Earl Dancer's 14 Pieces orchestra in Harlem, led a band from 1932 to 1934, then traveled in China until 1936 with the Teddy Weatherford orchestra. Returning to the United States, he joined the Count Basie Orchestra. In World War II he served in the US Army. Later he was a soloist in the "Jazz at the Philharmonic" series and made several European concert tours. Joining ASCAP in 1957, his other instrumental compositions include "Swingin' at the Copper Rail", "7th Avenue Express", "Stan's Dance", "Night Ferry", "Avenue C", "Blues Blase", "Buckini", and "Love Jumped Out".